

Meeting of May 14-16, 2015

Hotel Indigo 400 Brown Street Columbus, Indiana 47201 (812) 375-9100

Friday & Saturday Plenary Sessions held at The Commons See agenda for Committee meeting locations

AGENDA

Thursday, May 14

| 11:30 am – 3:00 pm | Assessment Development Committee Shannon Garrison, Chair Hotel Indigo, Belvedere A | |
|--------------------|---|--|
| 4:30 – 5:45 pm | Executive Committee (Closed Session 5:00 – 5:45 pm) <i>Terry Mazany, Chair</i> Columbus Visitors Center 506 5 th Street Stewart Conference Room | |

Friday, May 15

Plenary Sessions: The Commons 300 Washington Street Columbus, Indiana (812) 376-2681

| 8:30 – 9:15 am | Approval of May 2015 Agenda Approval of March 2015 Board Meeting Minutes Chairman's Remarks <i>Terry Mazany, Chair</i> |
|----------------|---|
| | Welcome Remarks Dale Nowlin, Governing Board Member Glenda Ritz, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction |

Friday, May 15 (continued) Plenary Sessions: The Commons

| 9:15 – 9:25 am | Deputy Executive Director's Report Mary Crovo, Deputy Executive Director | | | |
|---------------------|--|---|---|--|
| 9:25 – 9:35 am | Institute for Education Sciences (IES) Update Sue Betka, Acting Director, IES | | | |
| 9:35 – 9:45 am | National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Update Peggy Carr, Acting Commissioner, NCES | | | |
| 9:45 – 10:15 am | BREAK | | | |
| | Committee Meetings | | | |
| 10:15 am – 12:30 pm | Assessment Development Committee <i>Shannon Garrison,</i> <i>Chair</i> The Commons Xenia Miller Room | Committee on Standards, Design and Methodology <i>Lou Fabrizio, Chair</i> Zaharakos 329 Washington Street 2 nd Floor Green River Room | Reporting & Dissemination Committee <i>Andrés Alonso, Chair</i> Columbus Visitors Center 506 5 th Street Stewart Conf. Room | |
| 12:30 – 1:00 pm | BREAK | | | |
| 1:00 – 2:15 pm | Working Lunch Session Governing Board Strategic Planning Initiative <i>Terry Mazany, Chair</i> | | | |
| 2:15 – 2:30 pm | BREAK | | | |
| 2:30 – 4:00 pm | Assessment Literacy Initiative Jim Popham, Work Group Chair Assessment Literacy Work Group Members Amy Buckley, Reingold David Hoff, Hager Sharp | | | |
| 4:00 – 4:15 pm | BREAK | | | |
| 4:15 – 5:00 pm | Draft Resolution on Trend Reporting Lou Fabrizio and Andrew Ho, COSDAM | | | |
| 5:00 pm | Adjourn | | | |

Saturday, May 16

| 7:30– 8:15 am | Nominations Committee (Closed Session) <i>Tonya Miles, Chair</i> The Commons, Xenia Miller Room |
|---------------|---|
| | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Plenary Session The Commons

Г

٦

| 8:30 – 9:45 am | Closed Session NAEP Budget Update and Discussion Upcoming Decisions on the NAEP Assessment Schedule Terry Mazany, Chair Mary Crovo, Deputy Executive Director Peggy Carr, Acting Commissioner, NCES |
|------------------|--|
| 9:45 – 10:00 am | BREAK |
| 10:00 – 10:15 am | Remarks from Incoming Governing Board Executive Director <i>William Bushaw</i> |
| 10:15 – 11:00 am | Committee Reports and Board Actions Executive Committee Assessment Development Committee Committee on Standards, Design and Methodology Reporting and Dissemination Committee ACTION: NAEP Core Contextual Variables Nominations Committee |
| 11:00 am | Adjourn |

2015 - 2016 Quarterly Board Meeting Dates and Locations

| MEETING DATES | LOCATION |
|------------------------|----------------|
| 2015 | |
| | |
| August 6 – 8, 2015 | Arlington, VA |
| November 19 – 21, 2015 | Arlington, VA |
| 2016 | |
| | |
| March 3 – 5, 2016 | Washington, DC |
| May 12 – 14, 2016 | Washington, DC |
| August 4 – 6, 2016 | Chicago, IL |
| November 17 – 19, 2016 | Washington, DC |

National Assessment Governing Board

BOARD MEMBERSHIP (2014-2015)

Terry Mazany

President and CEO The Chicago Community Trust Chicago, Illinois

Susan Pimentel, Vice Chair

Educational Consultant Hanover, New Hampshire

Andrés Alonso

Professor of Practice Harvard Graduate School of Education Harvard University Cambridge, Massachusetts

Honorable Mitchell D. Chester

Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Malden, Massachusetts

Lucille E. Davy

President and CEO Transformative Education Solutions, LLC Pennington, New Jersey

Louis M. Fabrizio

Data, Research and Federal Policy Director North Carolina Department of Public Instruction Raleigh, North Carolina

Frank K. Fernandes

Principal, Kaimuki Middle School Honolulu, Hawaii

Honorable Anitere Flores

Senator Florida State Senate Miami, Florida

Rebecca Gagnon

School Board Member Minneapolis Public Schools Minneapolis, Minnesota

Shannon Garrison

Fourth-Grade Teacher Solano Avenue Elementary School Los Angeles, California

Honorable James E. Geringer

Former Governor of Wyoming Cheyenne, Wyoming

Doris R. Hicks

Principal and Chief Executive Officer Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Charter School for Science and Technology New Orleans, Louisiana

Andrew Dean Ho

Associate Professor Harvard Graduate School of Education Harvard University Cambridge, Massachusetts

Honorable Terry Holliday Commissioner of Education Kentucky Department of Education Lexington, Kentucky

Tonya Matthews

President and CEO Michigan Science Center Detroit, Michigan

Tonya Miles

General Public Representative Mitchellville, Maryland

Honorable Ronnie Musgrove

Former Governor of Mississippi Madison, Mississippi

Dale Nowlin

Twelfth-Grade Teacher Columbus North High School Columbus, Indiana

Joseph M. O'Keefe, S.J. Professor Lynch School of Education Boston College Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts

W. James Popham

Professor Emeritus University of California, Los Angeles Wilsonville, Oregon

B. Fielding Rolston

Chairman Tennessee State Board of Education Kingsport, Tennessee

Cary Sneider

Associate Research Professor Portland State University Portland, Oregon

Chasidy White

Eighth-Grade Teacher Brookwood Middle School Vance, Alabama

Ex-officio Member

Sue Betka Acting Director Institute of Education Sciences U.S. Department of Education Washington, D.C.

National Assessment Governing Board Committee Structure 2014-2015

Committee on Standards, Design and Methodology

Chair Vice Chair Lou Fabrizio Fielding Rolston Mitchell Chester Lucille Davy James Geringer Andrew Ho Terry Holliday James Popham *Sharyn Rosenberg (Staff)*

Reporting and Dissemination Committee

Chair Andrés Alonso Vice Chair Rebecca Gagnon Anitere Flores Tonya Matthews Terry Mazany Ronnie Musgrove Tonya Miles Joseph O'Keefe *Stephaan Harris (Staff) Laura LoGerfo (Staff)*

Assessment Development Committee

Chair Vice Chair

Shannon Garrison ir Cary Sneider Doris Hicks Frank Fernandes Dale Nowlin Susan Pimentel Chasidy White Mary Crovo (Staff)

Nominations Committee

Tonya Miles Lucille Davy Shannon Garrison Doris Hicks Andrew Ho Joseph O'Keefe Susan Pimentel Fielding Rolston Cary Sneider *Mary Crovo (Staff)*

Executive Committee

Chair

Chair Vice Chair Terry Mazany Susan Pimentel Andrés Alonso Lou Fabrizio Rebecca Gagnon Shannon Garrison Tonya Miles Fielding Rolston Cary Sneider Lily Clark (staff)